[an error occurred while processing this directive] Press Release :: Top Contributors to Interactive Entertainment Earn “Game Developers Choice Awards”

The Sims24 March 01 Press Release
GDCA SAN JOSE, CA – March 24, 2001 – The Gama Network (formerly the CMP Game Media Group) and the International Game Developers Association (IGDA) today announced the list of recipients of the 2001 Game Developers Choice Awards. The announcement was made during a ceremony Friday evening in the midst of the Game Developers Conference in San Jose, CA. Game developers honored their peers in celebration of games as an art form.

“It’s important that we pause every once in a while and recognize the efforts that go into making great video games,” said Alan Yu, director, Game Developers Conference. “The Game Developers Choice Awards are about recognizing the innovators who help move the industry forward and keep it interesting.”

“These awards are truly heartfelt by the community since they are awarded by their peers – who are often the toughest critics,” said Jason Della Rocca, program director of the IGDA.

The Game Developers Choice Awards focus on specific advances in the art form, as well as contributions made to the industry by the community. This year’s recipients are: Will Wright Accepting the Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Lifetime Achievement AwardWill Wright
  • The First Penguin Award – Chip Morningstar & Randy Farmer for Habitat/Club Caribe (LucasFilm)
  • Rookie Studio Award – Counter-Strike Team – Counter-Strike
    • Nominees –
    • Free Radical Design – TimeSplitters
    • Massive Entertainment – Ground Control
    • Nihilistic Software – Vampire: The Masquerade – Redemption
    • Planet Moon Studios – Giants: Citizen Kabuto
  • IGDA Award for Community Contribution – John Carmack
    • Nominees –
    • Chris Crawford
    • Michael Abrash
    • Robert Huebner
    • Warren Spector
  • Original Game Character of the Year – Yoot Saito for Seaman
    • Nominees –
    • Cate Archer – No One Lives Forever
    • Kabuto – Giants: Citizen Kabuto
    • Ulala – Space Channel 5
    • Tamale Loco – Tamale Loco @ shockwave.com
  • Excellence in Audio – Matt Uelmen, Jason Hayes, Glenn Stafford & Andrea Pessino for Diablo II (composition)
    • Nominees –
    • Michael Sweet – BliX (music)
    • Fumitaka Shibata – Samba de Amigo (music)
    • Naofumi Hataya & Kenichi Tokoi – Space Channel 5 (music)
    • Kemal Amarasingham & Eric Brosius – Thief II: The Metal Age (sound effects)
  • Excellence in Game Design – Harvey Smith & Warren Spector for Deus Ex
    • Nominees –
    • Sean Clark & Michael Stemmle – Escape from Monkey Island (puzzles)
    • Shigeru Miyamoto & Eiji Aonuma – Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (gameplay)
    • Ragnar Tornquist – The Longest Journey (story)
    • Neversoft Entertainment – Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 2 (gameplay)
  • Excellence in Level Design – American McGee, Jim Molinets & Team for American McGee’s Alice
    • Nominees –
    • NOLF level design team – No One Lives Forever
    • Michel Ancel & team – Rayman 2: The Great Escape
    • SSX level design team – SSX
    • Christopher Foster, Tom Odell & team – Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force
  • Excellence in Programming – Sims Programming Team for The Sims (AI)
    • Nominees –
    • Yu Suzuki & team – F355 Challenge (physics)
    • Scott Guest & Andy Astor – Giants: Citizen Kabuto (graphics)
    • Visual Concepts dev team – NFL2K1 (networking)
    • Martin Brownlow – Sacrifice (graphics)
  • Excellence in Visual Arts – Ryuta Ueda & Kazuki Hosokawa for Jet Grind Radio (art direction)
    • Nominees –
    • American McGee – American McGee’s Alice (art direction)
    • Tomonobu Itagaki, Hiroaki Matsui & team – Dead or Alive 2 (animation)
    • Joby Otero – Sacrifice (art direction)
    • Insomniac art team – Spyro: Year of the Dragon (art direction)
  • Game of the Year – The Sims Team for The Sims (Maxis)
    • Nominees –
    • Deus Ex (ION Storm Austin)
    • Jet Grind Radio (Smilebit)
    • No One Lives Forever (Monolith)
    • Shenmue (Sega AM2)
Without respect to genre or platform, five Game Spotlight Awards were granted to recognize games that demonstrate innovation and advancement in the state of the art of the interactive entertainment industry. This year’s recipients are:
  • The Counter-Strike Team for Counter-Strike
  • Hitmaker (Sega AM3) for Crazy Taxi
  • ION Storm Austin for Deus Ex
  • Smilebit for Jet Grind Radio
  • Monolith for No One Lives Forever
    • Nominees –
    • American McGee’s Alice (Rogue/EA)
    • Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (Nintendo)
    • NFL2K1 (Visual Concepts)
    • Sacrifice (Shiny)
    • Samba de Amigo (Sega Sonic Team)
    • Seaman (Vivarium)
    • Shenmue (Sega AM2)
    • SSX (EA Canada)
    • The Sims (Maxis)
    • Virtua Tennis (Sega)
Criterion Software and RealNetworks are proud sponsors of this year’s Game Developers Choice Awards.

About the IGDA
The International Game Developers Association, presenters of the Game Developers Choice Awards, is a non-profit association established by game developers to foster the creation of a worldwide game development community. The IGDA’s mission is to build a community of game developers, which leverages the expertise of its members for the betterment of the industry and the development of the art form. For more information on IGDA, please visit www.igda.org or e-mail info@igda.org.

About the Gama Network
The Game Developers Choice Awards are part of the Gama Network, which includes Game Developer magazine, Gamasutra.com, the Game Developers Conference and the Independent Games Festival. For more information on the Gama Network, please visit www.gamanetwork.com. In addition, the group also manages the International Game Developers Association (www.igda.org), an independent non-profit organization serving game developers.

About CMP Media Inc.
The Gama Network is a division of CMP Media Inc. (www.cmpnet.com), a leading high-tech media company providing essential information and marketing services to the entire technology spectrum – the builders, sellers and users of technology worldwide. CMP Media is owned by United Business Media (UNEWY), a London-based marketing information company.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]